NOTHING ELSE MATTRESS
                                                                                  Une collaboration avec Nicolas Puyjalon
 
La performance commence par le rugissement extrême d'un compresseur et une armada de matelas gonflables bleus jonchés sur le sol. Nicolas gonfle un pneumatique à la bouche tandis que Zabo, avec le compresseur et une pompe à pied, parvient à en gonfler dix. Le lit préparé "Princesse au petit pois" est prêt. Des instruments à vent (trois mélodicas, un harmonica, deux sifflets et une flûte) sont montés sur les valves et des claviers glissés entre les matelas.
Pour jouer de cet instrument gargantuesque, Nicolas et Zabo embarquent en sautant sur le dessus et tanguent, se débattent contre les éléments (l'air et la gravité) enclenchés par la déflation, allant jusqu'a passer par dessus bord...
Alors que les complices ont l'impression de dériver sur le radeau de la Méduse, la tension monte dans le public qui hurle de compassion, témoin d'une catastrophe en devenir, jusqu'au moment de grâce où ils parviennent enfin à apprivoiser l'instrument en se tenant et se reposant tout au long de la lente descente tandis qu'un son cacophonique carverneux émerge des valves préparées. "L'embarque-à-son" se rapprochant du sol, Zabo connecte un mégaphone pour amplifier le dernier souffle de l'instrument pendant que Nicolas consolide les matelas en un rocher solide. La performance se termine alors qu'ils se laissent retomber en arrière en s'agrippant l'un à l'autre : Nothing else mattress...
Collaboration Tales, "Post-Coital Tristesse". Commissaire EXstat²
Mois de la Performance, Art Berlin 16/05/2015

 
Nothing else mattress
press to zoom
Nothing else mattress
press to zoom
Nothing else mattress
press to zoom
Nothing else mattress
press to zoom
Nothing else mattress
press to zoom
1/1

NOTHING ELSE MATTRESS

A collaboration with Nicolas Puyjalon

Part 1 : Inflation of the mattresses 

Mouth / Compressor / Foot pump + Stacking up of the mattresses.
Part 2 : Setting up of the “Prepared mattresses” with wind instruments ( Melodicas, flute harmonicas, whistles, a megaphone) are mounted on the valves and Keyboards are placed in between the mattresses.
Part 3: Deflation of the Mattresses by jumping on top of the pile till total deflation.

The performance starts with the extreme roaring of an air compressor and an armada of blue inflatable mattresses covering the floor. Nicolas onsets the action of blowing-up one air mattress out of his lung while Zabo with the compressor and a foot pump manages to  inflate ten of them. The prepared  "Princess of the Pea" bed is ready, keyboards are placed in between the mattresses and wind instruments  to the valves: three melodicas, one harmonica, two whistles and one flute.
To play this Gargantuan instrument Nicolas and Zabo have to jumps on top and battle against the elements of air and gravity. While the accomplices feel like they are drifting on the Raft of the Medusa, the audience builds up into a collective hysteria as if they were all on a roller coaster and the construction does collapses... Second try, they go overboard again and again until the moment of grace when they finally manage to tame the instrument by holding on to each other, resting all the way through the slow descent while a tortuous cacophonous drone sound comes out of the prepared valves. Once the diflation is getting closer to the ground, Zabo connects a megaphone to amplify the last breath of the instrument while Nicolas rolls the mattresses into a solid rock. The piece ends as they let themselves fall backwards still holding on to the rock and

to one another. Nothing else mattress...

 

1/1

© Copyright 2020. Zabo Chabiland. All rights Reserved.